Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Become a member








The South Carolina Section of the American Water Works Association (AWWA) represents over 800 water professionals and 66 water utilities in the state of South Carolina. 

Mission, Vision & Strategic Plan

SCAWWA Strategic Plan


Providing solutions to effectively manage water, our state‚Äôs most important natural resource. 



A better South Carolina through better water.


Core Principles

  • Protect public health and the environment
  • Provide value to members and our state
  • Pursue excellence through education
  • Support professional collaboration and growth
  • Foster diversity and inclusion

Strategic Plan

Our Strategic Plan focuses on four goals in the areas of member engagement and development; organizational stewardship; knowledge creation and exchange; and water policy and leaderships. View our Strategic Plan (PDF)



Organizational Structure

Volunteers elected to the Executive Committee carry out the goals as set in the Section's bylaws. Member volunteers serve on committees to accomplish specific tasks.


SCAWWA has three paid staff positions, which are shared with the WEASC and carry out the day-to-day operations and activities of the Section: Executive Director, Association Manager, and Association Specialist.


SCAWWA conducts many seminars and workshops throughout the year with one annual meeting at the South Carolina Environmental Conference (SCEC), which is held in March each year in Myrtle Beach, SC.


The SCEC is held jointly with the Water Environment Association of South Carolina (WEASC). The SC Section also publishes a quarterly magazine, The Journal, jointly with the WEASC.


To learn more about our organizational structure, policies, committees, and awards,download the SCAWWA Section Handbook here.  The majority of the SCAWWA's mission is carried out through the work of it's technical committees.  If you are interested in serving on one of our technical committees, please complete the committee volunteer form and return it to the Association office. 


Our executive committee meets several times each year to plan and conduct the business of the section.  Approved executive committee meeting minutes are available by clicking here.  Each year we prepare an operating budget.  A copy of the approved budget for fiscal year 2018 is available by clicking here. 

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee is the governing body of SCAWWA. The 2018 - 2019 Executive Committee members are as follows:

Robert Osborne, Chair

  Black & Veatch
  (864) 643-9164

Rachel Cooper, Past Chair

    Orangeburg DPU
    PO Box 1057
    Orangeburg, SC 29116
    (803) 268-4423



Jane Byrne, Chair Elect

Jane Byrne

Charleston Water System
PO Box B
Charleston, SC 29402
(843) 863-4040



Jeff Phillips, Vice Chair

   Woodruff Roebuck Water District

   PO Box 182

   Woodruff, SC 29388

   (864) 347-7369

Billy Cothran, Senior Trustee


Jonathan Ladd, Junior Trustee

  Black & Veatch

  550 King Street, Ste. 400

  Charleston, SC 29403

  (843) 647-6841

Fred Yandle, Director

  CDM Smith

  1441 Main Street, Ste. 1000

  Columbia, SC 29201

  (803) 758-4511



Hank Rutland, Treasurer



Angie Mettlen, Secretary

  W.K. Dickson & Co.
  489 Fieldgate Circle
  Pawleys Island, SC 29585
  (843) 540-1015


David Niesse, Past Chair
Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal