Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Become a member
Share |

Each year, SCAWWA recognizes members with awards presented at the SC Environmental Conference in March. See below for more information about each award, including how to submit a nomination.


Nomination forms are listed at the bottom of the page.


Email Completed Forms to:


AWWA Awards

These awards are established by AWWA to be administered by each section.

Abel Wolman Award of Excellence

An award of excellence to recognize those whose careers in the water works industry exemplify vision, creativity, and excellent professional performance characteristic of Abel Wolman's long and productive career.

Award of Merit

An award of achievement to those outside the water profession who have demonstrated outstanding service in support of the principles of AWWA in providing better water for people.

Distinguished Public Service

This award was established in 1951 in honor of Harry E. Jordan, who served as Secretary of the Association from 1936 to 1959, and is presented in recognition of distinguished public service outside the line of duty by an AWWA member.

Diversity Award

Recognizes the individual or organization that has created, promoted, and maintained diversity within an organization by establishing an environment that recognizes, encourages, and effectively utilizes each individual's talents.

George Warren Fuller Award

Established in memory of George Warren Fuller in 1937, this award recognizes members who have contributed to the advancement of water works practice.

Water Industry Hall of Fame

This award was established by AWWA in 1970 to perpetuate the memory of those how have made the most significant contributions to the field of public water supply. To be eligible, a member must have been deceased for at least five years at the time of nomination.

Heroism Award

This award constitutes official recognition of an act of heroism on the part of an employee in the water utility industry wherein the restores must have risked his own life in the process of aiding some other person or persons. 

Honorary Membership Award

Awarded to worthy candidates for their contributions to the industry.

Life Member

This award is given in recognition of 30 years of service to AWWA and the water works industry. 

Outstanding Service to AWWA

Recognizes a member who has demonstrated outstanding service to the Association through leadership and active participation in AWWA programs.

Recognition by AWWA for Service to Industry

Recognizes individuals, groups, or organizations who may be members or nonmembers of AWWA and have made significant contributions to the water supply profession.

Safety Awards

Safety Awards are given annually to utilities in various categories. Awards of excellence are presented to water utilities with 100 - 500 employees with a disabling injury frequency rate of one third or less than the water utility industry average for the previous year. An award of merit is given annually to those water utilities of 100 or fewer employees that achieve a record of 200,000 man hours without a disabling injury

Gold Water Drop Award 

This award recognizes individual members who have provided valuable service and support for AWWA programs and goals through their long-standing Association membership.


South Carolina Section Awards

These awards are specific to SCAWWA.

Meritorious Operator Service Award

Awarded to a certified water works operator for outstanding performance as a water plant operator based on health department standards for excellence in operation and maintenance. 

Water Distribution Operator Award

This award is given annually by the Distribution Committee for achievement in water distribution operations, including preventative maintenance development and implementation. 

Membership Award

This award is given at the discretion of the Membership Committee Chair to any member of the Section whose recruitment or endorsement contribution is deemed outstanding.

Section Safety Award

The Safety Committee presents several awards of achievement to utilities of various sizes. The awards include the Award of Honor, Award of Merit, and Award of Progress. 

Herman F. Wiedeman Award

This award is presented in commemoration of the exemplary leadership of Herman F. Wiedeman, a distinguished consulting engineer for more than 40 years who was one of the organizers of SCAWWA and its first Chairman. The award may be presented annually to a member who has been actively engaged in the water supply profession and has contributed substantially toward achievement and science of the water supply industry in the Section. The award selection is made by the Wiedeman Award Committee. 

Kelly A. Hunsucker Cross-Connection Control Award

Established in 2006 and named for Kelly A. Hunsucker for his contributions to the development of SC's Cross-Connection Control Program, this award may be presented annually at to one utility that has excelled in managing a cross connection control program.

Kenneth J. Miller Water For People Founders’ Award

This award was established to recognize volunteers for their outstanding service and leadership in the advancement of the Water For People mission at the local committee and regional levels.This award may be presented annually to a person who demonstrates exemplary service to Water For People through fundraising, education, publicity, committee leadership, volunteer service abroad, and/or raising the awareness of Water For People and its work.

Young Professional Award

The Young Professional Award was established in 2003 and is given to recognize the contributions of young members whose service and achievements are exceptional for their years of experience. The award is given annually at the SC Environmental Conference to one member that has demonstrated an active commitment to the organization and the profession as a whole. The award recipient is selected by the Executive Committee from among the nominations forwarded from the Young Professionals Committee. 

L.A. Graham Leadership in Management Award

This award may be presented annually by the Management Committee to a member who demonstrates exceptional performance, professional expertise, and tireless dedication to the water industry.






SCAWWA Award Nomination Forms

Item Name Posted By Date Posted
Graham Leadership.pdf PDF (125.75 KB) Administration 1/17/2018
Kelly A Hunsucker.pdf PDF (126.92 KB) Administration 1/17/2018
membership.pdf PDF (118.06 KB) Administration 1/17/2018
Operator Meritorious.pdf PDF (121.09 KB) Administration 1/17/2018
Volunteer of the Year Award Criteria DOCX (27.59 KB) Administration 12/2/2019
Water Distribution.pdf PDF (123.69 KB) Administration 1/17/2018
WFP Miller.pdf PDF (119.08 KB) Administration 1/17/2018
Wiedeman.pdf PDF (120.31 KB) Administration 1/17/2018
YP.pdf PDF (125.29 KB) Administration 1/17/2018
Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal