Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Become a member
About the Joint Steering Committee
Share |
Because SCAWWA and WEASC share staff and hold joint activities throughout the year, the Joint Steering Committee was established as a means to discuss matters of joint interest to both organizations.

The JSC consists of members from the SCAWWA and WEASC Executive Committees, and the JSC's role includes the following:
  • Set policies that guide joint activities of SCAWWA and WEASC and update the Policy and Procedures Manual as needed. 
  • Submit joint conference budgets to each Executive Committee for approval.
  • Annually evaluate the Executive Director's performance and submit recommendations to the respective Executive Committees.

Current JSC Officers (2020-21)

Joint Steering Committee terms are one year and begin at the conclusion of the SC Environmental Conference (SCEC).


JSC Chair Olivia Flynn, WEASC President-Elect
JSC Vice-Chair Billy Cothran, SCAWWA Chair-Elect
JSC Secretary Angie Mettlen, SCAWWA Secretary
JSC Treasurer Madeline Zimmerman, WEASC Treasurer


JSC Membership Structure

The JSC consists of the following members:
  • The SCAWWA Chair, Chair-Elect, Vice Chair, Senior Trustee, and Past Chair.
  • The WEASC President, President-Elect, 1st Vice President, 2nd Vice President, and Past President.
  • The Treasurer and Secretary from each organization serve on the JSC in alternating years, as follows:
    -Even-odd year terms: SCAWWA Secretary and WEASC Treasurer serve in those respective roles on the JSC.
    -Odd-even year terms: WEASC Secretary and SCAWWA Treasurer serve in those respective roles on the JSC.

JSC Chair & Vice-Chair 

The Chair and Vice-Chair alternates between the two organizations.

When the term of the office begins in an even year:
  • The WEASC President-Elect serves as Chair
  • The SCAWWA Chair-Elect serves as Vice-Chair.
When the term of the office begins in an odd year:
  • The SCAWWA Chair-Elect will serves as Chair
  • The WEASC President-Elect serves as Vice-Chair. 

JSC Joint Committees

The following joint committees fall under the supervision of the Joint Steering Committee:
  • Communications Committee
  • Conference Management Committee
  • Emergency Preparedness Committee
  • Stormwater Committee
  • Water Resources Committee

JSC History

The Joint Steering Committee was formed in 1990 to plan the 1991 South Carolina Environmental Conference (SCEC), which was the first joint venture of the two organizations.

Since then, more joint collaborations have been embarked upon to include the South Carolina Water & Wastewater Agency Response Network (SCWARN), Confluence Conference, and a joint website and quarterly publication.

The policy and procedures manual developed by the committee to govern the first SCEC has evolved over the years to cover all cooperative ventures between the two organizations, including management of paid staff as well as the joint policies that affect both organizations, such as the Conflict of Interest Policy and the Cooperative Advertising Agreement Policy.

JSC Approved Meeting Minutes

More InfoHide Info ]
Library of Approved Joint Steering Committee Meeting Minutes
Item Name Posted By Date Posted
There are no files to display.

JSC Resources

Item Name Posted By Date Posted
Joint Steering Manual - Approved 3-9-19 PDF (2.28 MB) Administration 3/18/2019
Joint Steering Manual - Approved 3-9-19 DOCX (1.94 MB) Administration 3/18/2019
Joint Steering Policies & Procedures Manual PDF (829.79 KB) Administration 3/10/2014
Conflict of Interest Policy & Form PDF (54.07 KB) Administration 3/10/2014
Receipt of Personnel Manual & Employment at Will F PDF (116.74 KB) Administration 3/10/2014
YP of the Year Travel Agreement & Waiver Form PDF (133.93 KB) Administration 3/10/2014
Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal